Woman + Runner + Fighter

Follow a cavewoman on her fitness journey.

Superb Paleo Videos

Posted by cavewomanrunner on May 4, 2009

Kudos go out to the Pay Now Live Later  blog folks. They’ve posted two wonderful videos on the Paleo lifestyle (“Paleo/Primal in a Nutshell”). They answer many of the questions Paleo people hear over and over related to food and exercise:

1. Why do you eat so many funny, tasteless things?
2. Why don’t you eat dairy?
3. Why don’t you eat grains?
4. Why don’t you eat sweets?
5. Why do you exercise like that?

I more than agree with all of the points in the food video. Why would we eat processed, sugary foods that our bodies are not made to digest? Why wouldn’t we eat natural foods full of all of the nutrients we need? As they say, it’s a “no brainer.”

The exercise video is harder for me to fully agree with, perhaps because I run marathons. I have found a nice balance of resistance training, short runs, and long runs. My body is not overworked and overstressed. Since going Paleo I found that I have more energy, can run faster and longer, and – surprise – have not been sick once since making the switch.

Is that to say I think short interval workouts are bad? No, I think they’re great. I do my own Tabata intervals whenever I can. I’m just not ready to give up my long distance running. I enjoy it too much and have not experienced any ill effects. Perhaps that may change in the future. I may also just mix things up to have a variety – for example, after my third marathon (coming up in 12 days), I want to focus on a shorter 5K distance and improve my speed. That means I’m going to change my workouts to short, explosive, fast twitch exercises. It will be a nice change – and perhaps it will convince me that I don’t need to run 20 miles every 3 weeks or so. Perhaps. 🙂

3 Responses to “Superb Paleo Videos”

  1. Jessica said

    Yay, another female primal blogger! Love the look of your blog. Very nice! I don’t see a link to subscribe through RSS, though! Am I missing it?

    • cavewomanrunner said

      Thanks for the message, Jessica – and yes, we need more female primal bloggers! 🙂 I just added RSS, hopefully you can find it. I’ve also checked out your blog – you have great stories and inspiration – thank you! Keep writing!

  2. Dr Dan said

    I think the high intensity stuff is maybe more what we are evolved to do. Doesn’t mean we cant run marathons and if you feel good doing it then do it.

Leave a Reply

 
