Woman + Runner + Fighter

Follow a cavewoman on her fitness journey.

Mix Up Your Runs

Posted by cavewomanrunner on April 3, 2009

I’m always interested in how to shake up my training runs. Currently I do a mix of easy runs, speedwork, intervals, and long runs.  I run four days a week, long runs on the weekend. I’ve added interval training – like doing 6 x 2 minute fartleks or T runs (20 second sprint, 10 second jog, then repeat). I’ve increased my speed and endurance. And, of course, doing long runs (up to 20 miles) has also helped my endurance and getting my body used to running close to a marathon.

I feel quite prepared for my half marathon in 15 days (steep hill climb for 5 miles) and then a full marathon in six weeks. I also plan on adding in at least one 1oK, more half marathons, and at least one more marathon this year.

Half marathon time to beat: 2:18:35.0

Marathon time to beat: 4:28:02

Active.comhad an article today on how to mix up your running schedule. For the most part, it wasn’t very useful. It boiled down to either running longer or shorter – or using a treadmill. No mention of interval training or adding speedwork. The tip of logging your runs in a journal is nice, but most avid runners already do this.

I had to laugh too at this article’s definition of “high-energy tracks” you could add to your iPod: Madonna and the Red Hot Chili Peppers? Okay, a few of the RHCP’s songs are good for running – but Madonna? You might as well add Yanni to your playlist. Get some real music like Metallica, Static X, Motorhead and Disturbed, folks!

Leave a Reply

 
