Woman + Runner + Fighter

Follow a cavewoman on her fitness journey.

2009 is here!

Posted by cavewomanrunner on January 6, 2009

Happy New Year!!

It seems like forever since I’ve posted – and it has been. I skipped out on all of December. I have no excuse, except for a nice long vacation and lots of snow!

As for my Paleo diet, the holiday did take a bit of a toll. I had many “cheat days” and I slowed down on my running due to the icy roads and cold winds. But I still ran and I still cooked and ate as much good food as I could. The bad influence was my family. They had pizza, chips, peanuts, hamburgers, chocolate, candy, donuts, and every other bad food you can imagine while they were visiting. I also wasn’t home much to cook. But I did manage to bake a whole chicken (oh it was yummy) and finally try out my octopus recipe (it smelled really good and the octopus wasn’t bad – it’s just too rubbery for me). I also got a nice crock pot from my mom and I need to put it to good use!

So even though it’s January 5, I’m still declaring my new year’s resolutions – stick to my Paleo diet as much as possible and continually renew my passion for running and dancing. I feel so much better when I’m eating good food and exercising as much as I want to. I feel like a need to detox from the last few weeks of 2008! 😉

I also want to put more focus on working less, being less stressed out and bitchy – yes, bitchy – and spend more time enjoying life. Tonight I took my two big pups out to the school for a quick 4 mile run. There was about 6 inches of fresh snow – untouched! We ran and danced around each other and just had a blast! Those are the most peaceful times for me. That’s why I enjoy running and taking care of myself enough so I can do those things.

So I’m “back in the Paleo saddle” and ready to focus on my diet, my health, and my well being and putting more emphasis on enjoying the small things in life. I hope that 2009 is a good year – that it brings good things (more good times with my boyfriend, my family, my puppies, my friends) and continued good health (mental and physical).

Cavewomanrunner is back and ready for 2009! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
