Woman + Runner + Fighter

Follow a cavewoman on her fitness journey.

Paleo

Posted by cavewomanrunner on October 14, 2008

So just yesterday I started reading more about a runner’s diet based on the Paleo diet. It was prompted by this Runners World article.

I have been a somewhat serious runner for several years. Just a week ago I completed my second marathon (not in great time, but did beat my last marathon time by 10 minutes). I’ve done numerous half marathons, 10 milers, 10Ks, and 5Ks. I ran track all during my school years, mostly the 100 and 400. It wasn’t until I suffered a broken ankle playing soccer, and had to wear a cast for 3 months, that I had the motivation to walk again – and then run!

I’m also a dancer (mostly ballroom now, but have done everything), so running just fell naturally into my course of being healthy and fit.

At about age 14 I cut out many things from my diet – butter, salt, soda, cow, and pig being the main ones. I don’t like the taste of beef or pork, so I don’t eat it. I hate butter and soda. I limit salt and sugar as much as possible. So what do I eat? Being a runner especially, I mostly opt for carbs. Over the last few years, energy bars like PowerBars have become quick and easy choices. I try to eat some fruits and veggies, but most of my regular diet consists of bagels, yougart, whole wheat bread, pasta, peanut butter, crackers, cheese, popcorn, pancakes, etc.

So the Paleo Diet for runners basically says to go back to the simple stuff of cavemen. They ate meat, fruits, and vegetables. They didn’t eat grains and corn. They didn’t have processed flour and all of the other processed foods that we have today.

Now granted, they also weren’t training and running marathons. But the guys who wrote this book claim that you can follow a mostly Paleo diet, allowing for a few tweaks during your long training runs and races.

I’m intrigued.

So much so that I have ordered the book and have spent loads of time now researching the internet. And I’m seriously thinking about trying this diet out. I’d like to see if it does improve my running and my overall health. It makes sense that it would!

So I’m going to use this blog to track my progress – my diet, my reactions, my runs, just my life in general as I explore this lifestyle change.

I’m excited!!!

Leave a Reply

 
